Telephone 01394 38380643. Charity Reg. No. 220756
Patron: Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal
Opening Times: May-September inclusive, Saturdays, Sundays & Bank Holidays: 2-6pm. Other times by arrangement (telephone Mark Barnard, 01473 583352).
Admission: Adults £1.50, Children 25p. Free Car Park by the Mill – signposted from the A12.
Please contact the mill before travelling, to confirm times and admission fees, as these may change.
- Close to the A12. Six floors packed with milling machinery – Over 60 feet high – Sails turn on windy days
- Buttrum’s Mill is one of England’s finest tower windmills. Built in 1836, a product of the Suffolk millwright John Whitmore. Visitors can climb the tower to see the elegant machinery, including four pairs of millstones.
- The mill takes its name from the Buttrum family who ran it for nearly 60 years until finally ceasing work in 1928. Still privately owned, it is maintained and opened by Suffolk County Council.
Note: Unfortunately the steps make access difficult for the disabled.